Wrestling: Hawks lose to league powerhouse Glacier Peak

Syd Springberg
Syd Springberg came from behind to beat Griffin Thomas 6-5 Thursday. (Photo by TK Johnson)

The Mountlake Terrace High School wrestling team found out just how tough it’s going to be to succeed in the post-season Thursday night when, in their final dual meet of the 2013-2014 season, they were beaten by Wesco League powerhouse Glacier Peak 48-21 at Mountlake Terrace High School.

The Hawks did pick up victories in five weight classes, but three were by very slim margins. Gene Ahn hung on to defeat Stephano McKinney 8-7 in the 120 pound class, Daniel Oliferovskiy slipped by Tanner Kranz 8-6 at 152 pounds, and Syd Springberg had to come from behind to top Griffin Thomas 6-5 at 170 pounds.
Picking up pinfall victories for Terrace on Thursday were Taron Castleton and Tim Zuehl.

“Tonight was tough,” said Hawk Coach Grant Thompson following the meet. “That team we just wrestled won Lynden last week, a 17-team tournament. They’re a state-ranked team; they’re pretty tough.”

Next up for the Hawk wrestlers is the two-day Wesco 3A South sub-regional tournament at Marysville-Pilchuck High School beginning on Friday, Feb. 7. Thompson feels the squad is ready for the big meet; “We’ve got some young guys, but I think we’re fine,” he said. “I think we’re in a good place.”

The sub-regional will bring all five Wesco 3A South Conference teams, including Glacier Peak, together for matches beginning at 5 p.m. on Feb. 7. Action will continue on Saturday, Feb. 8 beginning at 10 a.m. The top two finishers in each weight division automatically qualify for the 3A Regional IV tournament on Feb. 15, with the third-place wrestler needing to win a loser-out match prior to the start of the tourney.

Spectator admission to the Wesco 3A South sub-regional is $7 per day for adults, $5 per day for students with ASB card, senior 62 and older, and children ages 6-11.

MTHS Wrestling vs. Glacier Peak, Jan. 30
Glacier Peak 48
Mountlake Terrace 21
Individual results:
106 — Glacier Peak win by forfeit
113 — Glacier Peak win by forfeit
120 — Gene Ahn (MT) defeated Stephano McKinney (GP) 8-7
126 — Mats Haneberg (GP) defeated Taylor Heatherington (MT) by pin at 2:36
132 — John Kim (GP) defeated Pavel Oliferovskiy (MT) 16-4
138 — Taron Castleton (MT) defeated Mason Fairbanks (GP) by pin at 3:38
145 — Ethan Barr (GP) defeated Chaplyn Mack (MT) 17-7
152 — Daniel Oliferovskiy (MT) defeated Tanner Kranz (GP) 8-6
160 — Logan Coleman (GP) defeated Shawn Poole (MT) 11-2
170 — Syd Springberg (MT) defeated Griffin Thomas (GP) 6-5
182 — Marcus Becerra (GP) defeated David Marrs (MT) by pin at 1:12
195 — Tim Zuehl (MT) defeated Sam Klippert (GP) by pin at 1:36
220 — Noah Palmaffy (GP) defeated Brett Potter (MT) by pin at 1:43
285 — Glacier Peak win by forfeit

— By Doug Petrowski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.