Winners Announced for Arts of the Terrace


The Arts of the Terrace Artists’ Reception attracted over 160 artists and patrons as the Arts Advisory Commission celebrated its 33rd year hosting this popular regional juried art show.

Awards were given out for the best pieces selected from the 214 works that were entered in the show. After the award ceremony, patrons and artists were treated to hors d’oeuvres as they enjoyed music by Emperor Quartet with Caleb Tizon, Silvia Chang and Emma Burbank.

This year’s “Best of Show” was presented to Joel Rummell for a ceramic bowl entitled “Recycle Sun.” The “City Purchase Award” went to Claudia Postema for a painting entitled “Sunflowers.” Tim Clifton received the Commissioners Choice Award for his work, “Contemporary Evolution.”

Award winners for Paintings, Prints, and Drawings included 1st Place: Debra Cepeda for “Tuckered Out,” 2nd Place: Marla French for “Court Ladies,” and 3rd Place Charlotte Haugen for “Flocking.”

Award winners for Photography were 1st Place: Kelly Kellogg for “Casey House.” 2nd Place: Kelly Kellogg for “Autumn Stroll,” and 3rd Place: Tim Clifton for “Feather Dance.”

Award winners for 3-Dimensional were 1st Place: Joel Rummell for “Recycle Sun,” 2nd Place: Sam Scott for “Black & White Platter,” and 3rd Place: Melissa Luna for “Seashell Vase.”

Miniatures award winners were 1st Place: Hal Sutherland for “Me and Mom,” 2nd Place: Barbara Freeman for “From the Highlands” and 3rd Place: Debra Cepeda for “Serengeti Sisters.”

Write On Calligraphers award winners were Kathryn Barker for “Message of Peace” and Dewey Henderson for “Redeemed.”

Merit Awards included Rocky Barrick for “End of the Day,” Laura Elmore for “Allegro,” and Josey Wise for “Blodget Canyon.”

Honorable Mention Awards were received by Seiko Konya, Claudia Postema, Min Zhong, Charlette Haugen, James McFarlane, Barbara Freeman, Cheryl Hufnagel, Sarah Sprouse, John Armstrong, Tim Clifton, Meagan Christie, Mary Bess Johnson, Zoanne LeRoy, Terry Sonmore and John DeKoekkoek.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here