Prep wrestling: Warriors come out on top of eight-team tournament

Pavel Oliferovskiy v Nik Vargas (hazen) 138
Mountlake Terrace’s Pavel Oliferovskiy takes down Hazen’s Nik Vargas. (All photos by Karl Swenson)

Edmonds-Woodway captured its first 3A Sub-Regional Wrestling team title Saturday with six Warriors winning top spots in their weight classes.

Mountlake Terrace, Meadowdale and Lynnwood took home fifth, sixth and seventh places respectively at the eight-team tournament held over two days at Edmonds Woodway High School.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class qualified for the Northwest 3A Regional Tournament to be held Saturday, Feb. 13, at Marysville-Pilchuck High School.

Prep Wrestling: 3A Sub-Regional Tournament, Feb. 5-6 (at Edmonds-Woodway High School)

Team results
1. Edmonds-Woodway        391.5
2. Glacier Peak                     273.5
3. Hazen                                191
4. Shorewood                       170.5
5. Mountlake Terrace          155
6. Meadowdale                     133.5
7. Lynnwood                           93
8. Kennedy Catholic                         59

Northwest 3A Regional Tournament qualifiers
106 —  1. Mitchell Martinez (EWHS)
2. Rhaye Samson (Shorewood)
3. Parker Hardy (Glacier Peak)
4. Matt Hood (EWHS)

113 —  1. Ebrima Fatty (EWHS)
2. Gene An (MTHS)
3. Dane Johnson (EWHS)
4. Gavin MacDonald (Glacier Peak)

120 —  1. Sidat Kanyi (EWHS)
2. Tyson Mowrey (Hazen)
3. Salihou Fatty (EWHS)
4. Josh Vail (Glacier Peak)

126 —  1. Beck Millet (Meadowdale)
2. Moussa Traore (MTHS)
3. Leul Wolde (Lynnwood)
4. Evan Wu (Lynnwood)

132 —  1. Nate Paulson (Lynnwood)
2. Mario Wesa (Hazen)
3. Tim Mandzyuk (Glacier Peak)
4. Max Kiser (Glacier Peak)

138 Pavbel Oliferovskiy MLT (1)
The podium for the 138 weight class. Terrace’s Pavel Oliferovskiy took first.

138 —  1. Pavel Oliferovskiy (MTHS)
2. Nik Vargas (Hazen)
3. Fidel Chishungu (Shorewood)
4. Jonah Cortezzo (EWHS)

145 —  1. Riley Seward (EWHS)
2. Leo Palganas (Hazen)
3. Joey Thimsen (Hazen)
4. Eugene Yang (Meadowdale)

152 —  1. Ricky Kranz (Glacier Peak)
2. Anthony Lindamood (EWHS)
3. Dieundonne Mayimayi (Hazen)
4. Henry Nguyen (Meadowdale)

160 —  1. Mason McDaniel (EWHS)
2. Chaplyn Mack (MTHS)
3. Mats Haneberg (Glacier Peak)
4. Jesus Hernandez-Baez (Meadowdale)

170 —  1. Cole Anstice (Lynnwood)
2. Micah Palmaffy (Glacier Peak)
3. Abdoulie Jatta (EWHS)
4. Konstantin Stratiev (EWHS)

182 —  1. Spencer Schultz (EWHS)
2. Liam Ball (Meadowdale)
3. Reyne Mack (MTHS)
4. Ian Whalen (EWHS)

195 —  1. Bowen McConville (Kennedy Catholic)
2. Michael Swires (EWHS)
3. Eric Brezen (MTHS)
4. Riley Teeters (Shorewood)

220 —  1. Ilai Wilson (MTHS)
2. Jesse Gere (Glacier Peak)
3. Generous Yeh (EWHS)
4. Casey Stensaas (Kennedy Catholic)

285 —  1. Malakai Fifita (Glacier Peak)
2. Japhet Valladeres (Shorewood)
3. Josiah Palmaffy (Glacier Peak)
4. Murad Atayev (Shorewood)

Award winners
Wesco 3A South Conference Wrestlers of the Year: Spencer Schultz (EWHS) and Mason McDaniel (EWHS)
Wesco 3A South Conference Coach of the Year: Brian Alfi (EWHS)
Wesco 3A South Conference Assistant Coach of the Year: Larry Springberg (MTHS)
Media Person of the Year: Steve Willits (Sound Live Sports Network)

–By Doug Petrowski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.