Premera Blue Cross invites public to nominate their favorite nurse


PremeraBCWAIf you have been touched by the work and caring of an exceptional nurse, you are encouraged to submit a nomination and join Premera Blue Cross in recognizing these caregivers whose extraordinary efforts stand out.

The March of Dimes Washington Chapter is celebrating its 12th year in honoring the best and brightest of local nurses for the Washington Nurse of the Year Awards with an exciting expansion of the event.  For the first time this year, nominations for these exceptional nurses will be accepted statewide.

The event, which will be held on Nov. 20 at the Meydenbauer Conference Center, is presented by Premera Blue Cross.

The 2014 Nurse of the Year Chair is Kathy Bressler, RN and President of St. Clare Hospital. Additionally, she serves as the Executive for Franciscan Health System Perioperative Services, Mental Health Services and Women’s & Children’s Services.

“I believe that nursing is immensely important to the health and well-being of our community,” said Bressler.  “I consider it an honor to serve in this role, and I am excited that the March of Dimes will acknowledge many of the gifted nurses who make exceptional contributions that often go unrecognized.”

Nominations are being accepted through September 5, 2014.  Nomination forms can be found online at, or obtained by calling 206-624-1373.

Proceeds from the event will benefit March of Dimes maternal and child health programs. Individual tickets, tables and sponsorships are available through the March of Dimes at 206-624-1373, or online at www.marchofdimes/washington . Individual tickets for the event are $50. Table sponsorships are $1,500.

RNs working at all staff levels in Washington who are in good standing with the Washington State Nursing Commission and have been a resident of Washington for at least one year are eligible to be nominated. In addition, any student currently enrolled in a nursing program in Washington is eligible for the New Generation category. Nominations for Nurse Case Managers are also encouraged.

Award categories for the 2014 Nurse of the Year program are:

  • Advanced Practice
  • Advancing the Profession
  • Advocacy for Patients
  • Community Health Nursing
  • Distinguished Nurse of the Year
  • Educational Champion
  • Innovative and Non-Traditional Nursing
  • Leadership
  • Legend of Nursing
  • Mentoring
  • Neonatal
  • New Generation
  • Nurse’s Choice
  • Palliative Care
  • Patient/Clinical Care
  • Perinatal/Pediatric
  • Rising Star
  • Rural Health
  • Staff Nurse – Critical Care
  • Women’s Health


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here