Nominations now open for Annual Evergreen Awards

Screenshot (133)
Previous Evergreen winners Edd and Leanne Hopkins.

The City of Mountlake Terrace is now accepting nominations for its seventh annual Evergreen Awards program.

The Evergreen Awards were established in 2009 to recognize property owners who take great care of their properties. The program builds community pride, enhances the city’s image and promotes conservation.

There are five categories of awards: Best Maintained Residence, Best Maintained Business, Best Maintained Multifamily Property, Most Sustainable Property and Best Transformation. Nominees are judged against properties within the same neighborhood: Cedar Terrace, Gateway, Lake Ballinger, Melody Hill, Cascade View and Town Center.

Best Maintained Awards reflect the efforts of the owners or occupants whose high standards for building and yard maintenance contribute to the overall character of the neighborhoods and city. The Transformation Awards recognize neglected properties renovated to become assets to the community.

City employees ask residents to help them find “hidden gems” that have been significantly improved, especially over the past year.

The Sustainable Award honors property owners who best utilize green features such as solar heating, natural cooling and native landscaping to help protect and preserve the environment.

Nomination forms, available online and at city facilities, will be accepted through Saturday, May 28.

Those interested may also send an email to with Evergreen Awards in the subject line. Emails must include the address, category and reason for nominating the property.

Anyone can submit a nomination and a property owner may nominate their own home or business. Properties being marketed for sale are not eligible.

Since last year’s program was postponed for budgetary reasons, all 2015 nominees will be considered this year.

Properties will be photographed for judging and for a presentation at the awards ceremony that takes place in September.

Learn more about the Evergreen Awards here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.