No Primary for MLT City Council

The Enterprise reports that the Mountlake Terrace City Council will not have a primary this year in August, as they often do. There are four council member position up for election this November and a primary is generally held in August when there are more than two candidates for any position. There are only two candidates for each of the four positions.

Position 1: Parks and Recreation Commissioner Ann Nygaard is challenging incumbent Rick Ryan, appointed in early 2008 to fill a vacancy created when Angela Amundson resigned.

Position 2: In the most interesting contest, Councilman John Zambrano is challenging incumbent Jerry Smith for Zambrano, who is in the middle of a four-year term, would keep that seat if he loses. If he wins, he would get a new four-year term, eliminate a rival and get to help pick a successor for the position he now holds.

Position 3: Parks Commissioner Andrew Funk, a former candidate for state representative, is running against Douglas McCardle for the position being vacated by Councilwoman Michelle Angrick.

Position 4: Resident Jasmin Contreras is challenging incumbent Kyoko Matsumoto Wright, appointed in January 2008, to fill a vacancy created after Doug Wittenger resigned.

If you’re curious as to how the City Council functions, here’s a run down:

Mountlake Terrace has a seven member City Council that serves under a Council-Manager form of government. City Council elections are held every two years with Councilmembers elected to staggered 4-year terms. Citizens of Mountlake Terrace may run for City Council if they are at least 18 years old and residents of the City for the previous twelve months. Candidates for office must file with the Snohomish County Elections Office and pay a filing fee to run for office. The official filing period usually begins in June of each Council election year and is open for one week. Candidates must also file with the Washington State Public Disclosure Commission within two weeks of filing as a candidate.

If more than two candidates file for a particular Council position, a primary election is held in August. The two candidates who receive the highest number of votes continue on to the general election held in November of each odd-numbered year. New Councilmembers begin their 4-year terms on January 1 of the following year.

At the first meeting of each even numbered year, the Council elects their Mayor for the following two years. Under the Council-Manager form of government, the Mayor presides at meetings and attends ceremonial events on behalf of the city. Each year, the Council elects a Mayor Pro Tem who serves in the same capacity in the Mayor’s absence.

[image courtesy Just Us 3]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.