MTHS and BTMS students honored at state conference for technology

MTHS student delegation, 2016 WTSA State Conference
MTHS Student Delegation

Students from Brier-Terrace Middle School and Mountlake Terrace High School earned numerous honors at the 33rd annual Washington Technology Student Association (WTSA) State Conference held March 31 – April 2 in SeaTac.

“Our students did a great job competing in STEM-related events,” BTMS teacher and TSA advisor Todd Johnston said.

Screenshot (213)
BTMS Student Delegation

In addition to numerous individual and team awards, Brier-Terrace Middle School was presented with the WTSA’s Superlative Membership Award for having the largest middle school chapter and largest overall chapter in the state.

The Brier-Terrace TSA chapter is advised by Johnston, Margaret Daniels and James Sullivan; the MTHS chapter is headed by Mark Burbank.

BTMS student results, WTSA State Conference, March 31 – April 2

Biotechnology Challenge: Dylan Breuer, Nolan Degarlis, Ian Dortch, 1st Place (mentored by BTMS teacher Jodi Salenski)

Career Prep:  Cole Johnston, 2nd Place

Yuetang Wang, 3rd Place

Essays on Technology: Nolan Degarlis, 3rd Place (mentored by BTMS teacher Maureen Garrison)

Junior Solar Sprint: Aidan Alderson, Dylan Breuer, Derek Nguyen, Yuteng Wang, 1st Place
Aidan Cullen, Cole Johnston, Lukas Malins, Meghan Park, 2nd Place
Nolan Degarlis, Giang Ho, Pilsung Kwak, Kyler Riner, 3rd Place

Knowledge Bowl: Aidan Alderson, Cole Johnston, Meghan Park, 3rd

Leadership Strategies: Aidan Alderson, Cole Johnston, Meghan Park, 1st Place

Aidan Cullen, Nolan Degarlis, Yuteng Wang, 4th Place

Mass Production: Aaron Buck and Ander Struli, 3rd Place
Prepared Speech: Meghan Park, 2nd Place
Structural Engineering: Pilsung Kwak, Zafarullah Rehman, 2nd Place
Giang Ho, Kyler Riner, 3rd Place
Cole Johnston,  Aidan Alderson, 4th Place
Aidan Cullen and Meghan Park, 5th Place
Video Game Design: Kaley Giboney, Giang Ho, Pilsung Kwak, Lukas Malins, Derek Nguyen, Kyler Riner, 3rd Place (mentored by BTMS teacher Ryan Treadway and parent Justin Alderson)
Website Design: Aidan Alderson, Cole Johnston, Meghan Park, 4th Place

MTHS student results, WTSA State Conference, Mar. 31 – Apr. 2

Dragster Design: Sophie Burbank, 1st Place

Essays on Technology: Reidan Chea, 2nd Place

Structural Engineering: Trevor Doan and Redian Chea, 1st Place

Connor Ebright and Jonathan Thiem, 2nd Place

Reece Newhouse and Anthony Le, 4th Place

Sophie Burbank and Alison Cheney, 5th Place

Sophie Burbank and Connor Ebright were presented a state Silver Achievement Award for excellence in leadership development, understanding technology, school & community service, and career & personal planning

–By Doug Petrowski


Please enter your comment!