Mountlake Terrace High School again honored with First Amendment Press Freedom Award

For the eighth year in a row (and 10th time overall), Mountlake Terrace High School has been named a recipient of the Journalism Education Association’s 2021 First Amendment Press Freedom Award.MTHS was one of 14 public and private high schools recognized nationally for actively supporting, teaching and protecting First Amendment rights and responsibilities of students and teachers, with an emphasis on student-run media where students make all final decisions of content.

While the focus of this award is on the relationship between the student media and our campus community, the award is presented to the entire school because of its commitment to the principles of the First Amendment,” said MTHS journalism instructor and adviser of school publications the Haweye and TEMPO. ” It is such an honor to live in this community and work at this school!”

The committee making the selection included representatives from the Journalism Education Association, National Scholastic Press Association and Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society.

This is the 21st year for the award, which was announced on Student Press Freedom Day.

As in previous years, schools competed for the distinction by first answering questionnaires submitted by an adviser and at least one editor; those who advanced to the next level were asked to provide responses from the principal and all media advisers and student editors, indicating their support of the First Amendment. In addition, semifinalists submitted their printed policies.

Here’s the entire list of 2021 First Amendment Press Freedom Award winners:

  • The Archer School for Girls, Los Angeles
  • Brighton (Colorado) High School
  • Chantilly (Virginia) High School
  • Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School, Rockville, Maryland
  • Convent of the Sacred Heart High School, San Francisco
  • Harrisonburg (Virginia) High School
  • Kirkwood (Missouri) High School
  • McLean (Virginia) High School
  • Monta Vista High School, Cupertino, California
  • Mountlake Terrace High School
  • South Salem High School, Salem, Oregon
  • St. Louis Park (Minnesota) High School
  • Stuart Hall High School, San Francisco
  • Whitney High School, Rocklin, California

The 14 winning schools will be honored as part of the Spring JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in awards presentation on Saturday, April 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.