Many familiar names on 2014 primary election ballot

Mike Lapointe
Mike Lapointe
Rick Larsen
Rick Larsen
B.J. Guillot
B.J. Guillot

Mountlake Terrace and Brier voters now know that they will have a slew of familiar names to consider on the 2104 primary election ballot as the filing period for congressional, legislative, state, county and local positions closed on Friday.

Incumbent Congressional Representative Rick Larsen will have two opponents for the Aug. 5 primary election — Mike Lapointe and B.J. Guillot. Lapointe, a former labor union officer and Occupy Everett organizer, appeared on the 2012 primary election ballot for the same District 2 post, but did not qualify for the general election. Guillot, a vice-president of a technology provider for the health care industry, failed in his 2012 campaign effort for a state legislative seat in District 44.

In state legislative races, Legislative District 32 will have three names on the primary ballot for State Senator, incumbent Maralyn Chase, current City of Shoreline Deputy Mayor Chris Eggen, and Robert Reedy, a Mountlake Terrace resident who has thrown his hat into the ring in numerous state and local races over the past few years.

The current District 32 State Representative in Position1, Cindy Ryu, is running for re-election unopposed, while Position 2 Representative Ruth Kagi is getting a challenge this year from Edmonds resident Alvin A. Rutledge, a long-time community volunteer and retired transfer and moving company owner/operator.

State Representative District 1 Position 1 incumbent Derek Stanford is running unopposed for his seat, while Position 2 office holder Luis Moscoso is being joined on this year’s ballot by Edward J. Barton, president of a business and financial services company, and Dave Griffin, a former manufacturer manager who previously ran for the same State House post in 2010.

Also appearing on primary election ballots in Mountlake Terrace and Brier will be elections for three county offices, four State Supreme Court positions, and three District Court seats. Ballots should start arriving in voters mailboxes in mid-July.

U.S. Congressional District 2 (two-year office)
Rick Larsen (prefers Democratic Party)
Mike Lapointe (prefers Indepentent Party)
B.J. Guillot (prefer Republican Party)

State Senator, District 32 (four-year office)
Maralyn Chase (prefers Democratic Party)
Chris Eggen (prefers Democratic Party)
Robert Reedy (prefers Republican Party)

State Representative Position 1, District 32 (two-year office)
Cindy Ryu (prefers Democratic Party)

State Representative Position 2, District 32 (two-year office)
Ruth Kagi (prefers Democratic Party)
Alvin A. Rutledge (prefers Republican Party)

State Representative Position 1, District 1 (two-year office)
Derek Stanford (prefers Democratic Party)

State Representative Position 2, District 1 (two-year office)
Luis Moscoso (prefers Democratic Party)
Edward J. Barton (prefers Republican Party)
Dave Griffin (prefers Democratic Party)

Snohomish County Executive (one-year unexpired term)
John Lovick (prefers Democratic Party)
Carolyn Eslick (prefers Republican Party)
James Robert Deal (prefers Democratic Party)

Snohomish County Prosecuting Attorney (four-year office)
Mark K. Roe (prefers Democratic Party)

Snohomish County Sheriff (one-year unexpired term)
Ty Trenary
Jim Upton

– By Doug Petrowski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.