Incumbents who represent MLT re-elected in State Legislative races

By Doug Petrowski

Incumbents in State Legislative Districts 1 and 32, which include Mountlake Terrace and Brier, were all successful in defending their seats in the Tuesday, Nov.  6 General Election.

The City of Brier Proposition No. 1 annexation vote is still too close to call, with the “Yes” total just three votes ahead of the “No” tally, 19-16, at this point of vote tabulations.

In Legislative District 1, State Senator Rosemary McAuliffe turned back the challenge of Dawn McCravey, winning 54.38 percent of the vote compared to McCravey’s total of 45.48 percent. In House Representative Position 1 Derek Stanford retained his seat with 56.55 percen of the vote, while challenger Sandy Guinn collected 43.29 percent. In the House Representative Position 2 race, Mountlake Terrace resident Luis Moscoso won a second term with 59.47 % of the vote, with Mark T. Davies receiving 40.29 percent.

In Legislative District 32 races, Cindy Ryu retains her House Representative Position 1 seat, easily outdistancing her challenger Randy J. Hayden 67.97 percent to 32.90 percent. For House Representative Position 2, Ruth Kagi will return to Olympia after receiving 66.70 percent of the vote, while Robert Reedy gathered 33.17 percent.

Legislative District 1 includes all of Brier and areas of Mountlake Terrace east of I-5; Legislative District 32 includes areas of Mountlake Terrace west of I-5.

City of Brier Proposition 1, if approved, would annex 15.9 acres of the unincorporated Allview Heights neighborhood into the Brier city limits. The measure needs a simple majority of votes cast to approve the annexation.

The Snohomish County Election Division has counted approximately 47.24 percent of the ballots issued for the general election, and expects to release the results of further vote tabulations on Wednesday after 5 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.