Council to approve Town Center Task Force members, discuss ‘small cell’ regulations at April 2 meeting

A final list of members for the 11-member Mountlake Terrace Town Center Task Force is set to be approved by the Mountlake Terrace City Council April 2 following discussion at the council’s Thursday, March 29 work/study session.

The council will also be holding a public hearing on “small cell” wireless regulations that include passage of an interim zoning ordinance that would then be referred to the City’s Planning Commission for further study. Small cells are short range mobile cell sites used to complement larger macro cells, or cell towers.

As for the Town Center Task Force, the council had six positions to fill; the remaining five positions were appointed by the newly formed group called CLEAR – which stands for Civic Leadership Educating Achieving Revitalizing — and consists of local developers, business owners and residents. The task force will assist in the development of an updated Town Center Plan, which was originally adopted by the City Council in 2007. The plan, which was amended in 2009, can be found on the city’s website at

Candidates for the remaining six positions were interviewed  by Mayor Jerry Smith, Mayor Pro Tem Kyoko Matsumoto-Wright, and Councilmembers Doug McCardle and Laura Sonmore during special meetings March 22 and 27.

The six people chosen from the list of nine interviewed are Linda Rogers, Adam Bettcher, Sarah Bayle, Steve Cox, Jerry Osborn and Ronald Skinner. They will join the the CLEAR-appointed representatives, who include Victor Eskanazi, Joe Mustach, Wade Heyer, Marie Landsverk and Mike Lavigne.