City presents Evergreen Awards to local home and business owners

In a ceremony held Wednesday night at the Ballinger Clubhouse, the City of Mountlake Terrace presented 25 Evergreen Awards to local home and business owners for beautifying, maintaining and transforming their properties.

Started with the help of the Snohomish County-Camano Association of Realtors, the City’s Evergreen Awards have been presented every year since 2009 — except for 2015 due to budget restrictions — and recognize home and business owners in Mountlake Terrace in five categories: Best Maintained Residence, Best Maintained Business, Best Maintained Multifamily Property, The Transformation Award and the Sustainability Award.

In addition, city officials recognized eight more homeowners with Honorable Mention honors.

Evergreen Award winners were each presented a plaque by city officials at a ceremony that included desserts from two local bakeries, the Snohomish Pie Company and Crema de la Crema Bakery, both located in Mountlake Terrace.

2016 Evergreen Award winners (and the designated neighborhood the property is located in)

Merle & Nancy Blevins (Cascade View)
Jamie Himmerich & Davi Tingdale (Cascade View)
Sam Yen & Nary Noc (Cascade View)
Frank & Kimmy Choe (Cascade View)
Cliff & Betty Porter (Cedar Terrace)
John & Tania Klippert (Cedar Terrace)
Mitch & Vichit Birchfield (Cedar Terrace)
Jose & Luz Laurean (Gateway)
Garry & Mary Swierenga (Gateway)
Dick & Jeanne Johnson (Lake Ballinger)
Robin & Lance Blacksmith (Lake Ballinger)
Ed & Helen Ersfeld (Lake Ballinger)
Jon Ness (Melody Hill)
Sam Almallah (Melody Hill)
Klara Dimitrova and Stefan Krastev (Melody Hill)
Cindy Anderson (Town Center)
Admir & Amela Sejfic (Town Center)
Leslie & Shawn McCulloch (Town Center)
Brian Dadvar (Cascade View – and builder of ten homes throughout Mountlake Terrace)
Brighton School (Cascade View)
Mountlake Senior Living (Gateway)
Cedar Cottages LLC (Gateway)
Crema de la Crema (Melody Hill)
Snohomish Pie Company (Town Center)
Vineyard Park (Town Center)

2016 Evergreen Award honorable mentions

‘L’ Ellis (Cedar Terrace)
Frank & Judy Westman (Cedar Terrace)
Arne & Ann Ringstad (Cedar Terrace)
Allen Bailey & Kathy Matland (Gateway)
Debbie & Mike Cramer (Lake Ballinger)
Arnie & Vicki Meldahl (Melody Hill)
Kris Lundborg (Town Center)
Helen Pollard (Town Center)

— Story and photos by Doug Petrowski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *